Too Many Words

Looking back at my blog entries, I noticed just too many words. Today, I felt rather poetic…. was wondering if this is due to reading too much poetry today or because of the Eminem I've been listening to since morning. Anyway, here's a poem by Li Bai which I like very much:

Drinking Alone by the Moonlight

A cup of wine under the flowering trees;
I drink alone, without a friend by me.

Raising my cup I beckon the bright moon,
For he, with my shadow, will make us three.

The moon, alas! is no drinker of wine;
Listless, my shadow creeps about at my side.

Yet with moon and shadow as my loyal friend,
I must make merry before the Spring is spent.

To the songs I sing the moon flickers her beams;
In the dance I weave my shadow tangles and breaks.

While we were sober, three shared the fun;
Now we are drunk, each goes his way.

May we long share our odd, inanimate feast,
And meet at last on the Milky Way.

(adapted from a translation by Arthur Waley)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

