On Seeing the 100% Perfect Girl

One beautiful April morning, on a narrow side street in Tokyo’s fashionable Harajuku neighborhood, I walk past the 100% perfect girl.

Tell you the truth, she’s not that good-looking. She doesn’t stand out in any way. Her clothes are nothing special. The back of her hair is still bent out of shape from sleep. She isn’t young, either – must be near thirty, not even close to a “girl,” properly speaking. But still, I know from fifty yards away: She’s the 100% perfect girl for me. The moment I see her, there’s a rumbling in my chest, and my mouth is as dry as desert.

Maybe you have your own particular favourite type of girl – one with slim ankles, say, or big eyes, or graceful fingers, or you’re drawn for no good reason to girls who take their time with every meal. I have my own preferences, of course. Sometimes in a restaurant I’ll catch myself staring at the girl at the table next to mine because I like the shape of her nose.

– From “On Seeing the 100% Perfect Girl One Beautiful April Morning” by Haruki Murakami.

This is such a nice short story. Wished I could type the whole story here but better still, if you like it, just go to a good bookstore nearby and buy the book and read.

Is what he described love at first sight? Anyone ever experienced love at first sight will know that the feeling is like what Murakami described. For no good reasons, you get attracted to a girl. You try to understand why you like her. Her eyes? Her nose? The way she talks? No, more than that. It’s a combination of everything and something more. You will be really lucky if you can experience that intense feeling for once in a life time. Once is really enough.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Thoughts & Commentaries

Leave a Reply

