Four Books Meme and more

With the invasion of Facebook in my life (and countless other lives), I tend to spend a rather large percentage of my private online time on it and catching up with friends. I also seem to be writing there, using the Notes function, which saw me writing 2 notes which should have belonged to this blog! Anyways, I will still write on this blog, no less but for those readers here who are also on Facebook, let’s be friends there :)

Okay, maybe before I go to the meat of this post, a couple of things that got me hooked during October (besides others – e.g. poker and I am now loving Omaha Hi/Lo!):

Movies: Have been watching Tarkovsky’s STALKER again and again and still marvelling! Absolutely great movie.

Books: THE KITE RUNNER by Khaled Hosseini. Great story of friendship and redemption as happened in the land of Afghanistan, spanning 2 decades and thus also revealing Afghanistan’s terrible fate in during those years.

Okay, now I am tagged by my great friend YTSL in her blog and here it is. I love here memes which always get me thinking ;-)

Four childhood books

I don’t read a lot during my childhood. I only really started reading when I am about 13 years old and it was then that I started to read the Enid Blytons, even a couple of Nancy Drews. However, I distinctly remember being read a book when I was a kid and that was the “3 Character Classic” – yes, that Confusian-Mencian tradition one.

I also remember flipping through some Children’s Encyclopedia books but no memories really came from that except that the idea of the existence of the Universe really stuck and I can still remember this Copernican revolution for my small mind that time.

I really don’t remember reading much during my childhood days. But I do play a lot, hang out in the streets a lot and do all sorts of naughty stuffs – and get spanked real hard by my mom and I had to hide underneath my grandma’s chair.

Four authors I will read again and again

1. Lin Yutang

2. Rabindranath Tagore

3. Ralph Waldo Emerson

4. Haruki Murakami

Four authors I will never read again

Because I read by way of recommendation and don’t really plunge in reading books by people I have never heard of, but here are some author’s whose works I will never read again, not at least for now!

1. Hegel – Heaven! What???? Read this: “The bond of duty can appear as a restriction only on indeterminate subjectivity or abstract freedom, and on the impulses either of the natural will or of the moral will which determines its indeterminate good arbitrarily.”

2. Anything by, or associated with, Donald Trump. I just cannot stand seeing that guy’s face.

3. Adeline Yen Mah – when I read Falling Leaves, I got sucked in only to realise that I got tricked with false sympathy. Hate being taken for a ride.

The first four books on my to-be-read list

1. A Thousand Splendid Suns – Khaled Hosseini

2. The Complete Works of Anton Chekhov

3. Gustav Mahler: Volume 4 A New Life Cut Short 1907-1911 – Henri Louis de la Grange

The four books I would take to a desert island

1. The Importance of Living – Lin Yutang

2. Ralph Waldo Emerson – Essays and Journals

3. The Dhammapada

4. The Old Man and The Sea – hahahaha!

The last lines of one of my favourite books.

“And how long do you think we can keep up this goddamn coming and going?” he asked.

Florentino Ariza had kept his answer ready for fifty-three years, seven months, and eleven days and night.

“Forever,” he said.

-Love in the Time of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Now don’t blame me for this for I am a sucker for romantic stories :)

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

