Go Books

Well yes, the big worldwide news nowadays is that Obama is the next American president. Many people were happy, even many people in Malaysia. The feeling is just like our own March 8 election where people saw hope and change for the better. To be really honest, I am not so sure. I really don’t know if any substance is going to come from what is just merely symbolic at this point in time. We shall see how it goes from here. I am always the type of person that is afraid to hear big promises because big promises often fail. I would rather hear small promises, small steps, building a better future brick by brick. Maybe I am just a little bit too conservative or the beancounter in me is just a little too prudent.

That said, as it has been clearly illustrated in the book BLACK SWAN, all the major changes in history is a result of, well, how to say, a fluke at best because it is just so unexpected. Maybe “fluke” is not the right word but unexpected, unplanned and unpromised. What we can do is really to prepare ourselves when a black swan event comes or do as much as we can to expose ourselves for black swan opportunities.

This post actually is about Go Books as one of my new acquaintance, Dennis, is interested to buy some go books and his interests sparks me to maybe write some comments about the go books that I have since I do have quite a number of them. I have written about go books a bit in some of my previous posts, so maybe I can continue to do that.

Recently, I have bought the “100 Tips for Amateur Players Vol 2” and the Yang Yilun Workshop Lectures volumes 3, 4 and 5. This is in addition to the “100 Tips for Amateur Players Vol 1” that I have bought some time back plus the “Think Like A Pro: Haengma” and “Think Like A Pro: Pae” books written by the same author Yoon Youngsun and the Yang Yilun books “Fundamental Principles of Go” and the Workshop Lectures volumes 1 and 2.

Needless to say, I love those previous books and their authors and have learnt a lot from them. On the way to my house now is Kim Sung-Rae’s new book, “21st Century New Openings”. This is a follow up of his very excellent book “Korean Style of Baduk vol 1” where he discusses about the Avalanche joseki and the mini-chinese opening. In his new book totalling 380 pages, he is going to talk about new josekis and fusekis that is happening in the current go world. This ought to be really interesting although the depth may be beyond my current level of understanding.

The “100 Tips for Amateur Players” is made up of questions concerning the joseki, opening, invading, attacking, life and death and some training questions. From my experience, the shapes and positions that the author chose to illustrate the problem is very real and happens all the time, at least in my own games. There are positions that I have just studied and in one of my games with Mr. Tiong, I was able to use the lessons learnt from the book immediately. This happened so often in my real games, I made it a point to always revise the lessons in the book and as such I have now read the first volume over more than two times. I appreciate the author’s efforts to choose positions that is so real in our actual games and not some imagined positions that does not normally happen in games. The positions are quite thoroughly studied and explanations given. Although the books contain some typo mistakes, these are nothing compared to the contents of the book. Players in the range of 5k to 2d should be able to amply appreciate this book.

Yang Yilun’s teaching style is very clear and very principle driven. Instead of asking one to memorise a position and sequences, he tries to explains the play by way of formulating principles of play. I see this first in his book “Fundamental Principles of Go” which I bought about 4 years back and is one of the book that I most appreciate. I have read this book over and over for many times now and even if I go over the book now again, I still learn some things especially in the end chapters on reduction and invasion. This book is followed by by his Workshop Lecture series where the contents of his workshops are transcribed into book form and the style is similar to the “Fundamental Principles of Go”. Again, I love this workshops lectures and benefited a lot from them, especially so the lectures on “Playing Complicated Joseki”, “Choosing the Direction of Attack”, “Punishing Weak Groups Directly”. The details of these books can be found on the Slate and Shell site. Again, I will see that these books will be very much appreciated by single digit kyu players right up to about 2dan although double digit kyu players will surely benefit from reading them too.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Go Books

  1. Nobody knows whether Obama will bring change or not. But he represents “change”, and his being voted strongly means people want change. That’s a start.

    Perhaps there’s no such thing as big change at all. All big changes started from a collection of small changes, it’s not like they come from no where.

    Even our March 8 built up little by little from dissatisfaction with certain government actions and policies. Similarly, Obama being voted is because of gradual change in attitude among Americans towards race. It’s not like Obama won, and whole America change.

    Anyway, those sound like good Go books to me. I only had read a few chapters of Yang Yilun’s Fundamentals of Go during a book exhibition, it was really good. Wish I had finished it. :(

    Do you know where to buy Go books without having to set up PayPal? Any stores that accept MasterCard directly?

  2. fallingstones

    Yeah, I think you are right in that it is actually an accumulation of small changes that led to it. I think in many aspects of our life, it is also the accumulation of small changes, just like in Go (heh heh… Go parable again)… it is probably the accumulation of small advantage move by move that led to winning… haha.

    Re Go books, I usually buy through Slate and Shell nowadays and is using my credit card (not Pay Pal) for the purchase. The books arrive quite fast too, one week plus and the shipping is not too expensive.

  3. What you just said is going to put a big dent in my bank account. :) Thanks for the info.

  4. oh SantaClaus tell me please,
    12k whith a weak middle game…
    Which book should I choose?

    thanks

    stefano

  5. fallingstones

    hi stefano, in my experience, the middle game has a lot to do with direction of play and attack and defense. i will definitely find the Attack and Defense in the Elementary Go Series invaluable in this aspect.

    there are also other books worth considering, of course, such as sakata eio’s Middle Game of Go which explored some middle game josekis that also touched on direction of play and attack and defense. other books that i can think of is Keshi and Uchikomi (Reduction and Invasion), Enclosure Josekis and Reducing Territorial Frameworks. Although these books are a bit “old”, they contain very valuable middle game positions that can be thoroughly studied.

    In any case, if you have not have it yet, Attack and Defense will definitely be my first choice amongst the books mentioned.

    hope this helps ;-))))

Leave a Reply

