Tora-San

Life has suddenly become quite boring and sometimes even depressing. I don’t know why I feel this way so suddenly. There are many reasons to it I think. Maybe a change in lifestyle or environment will do the trick. But I don’t know what. Anyways, I will let the river flow naturally and see where it leads. It should lead to the sea.

Anyways, to soothe the feeling, I watched Yamada Yoji’s TORA-SAN, OUR LOVABLE TRAMP again last night. I have not watched a movie during weekdays for the longest time. Probably a year now and it feels really good. In a way, watching Tora-san also reminds me of Yasmin since she also loves the Tora-san series. It is no small wonder why she loves it. Tora-san is a lovable chap, although I would say if he exists in my life, I would really hate him. But also it would be fun to have him around.

Tora-san is that kind of person. Someone that you really hate having around but will miss him if he is not around. Quite an oxymoron, isn’t it. This is what makes the film so good. “The little imperfections that made him perfect”, perhaps. Tora-san is such a fool, such a “baka”, and he almost always spoils everything he touches but he is at the same time, capable of deep emotions which is very pure and simple.

I am glad I watched that movie last night. At least it felt good for a while. And there are still so many other movies to watch.

Damn, I really miss the movies so much.

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

