Sessions of Sweet Silent Thought…..

When to the sessions of sweet silent thought
I summon up remembrance of things past,
I sigh the lack of many a thing I sought,
And with old woes new wail my dear time’s waste;
Then can I drown an eye, unused to flow,
For precious friends hid in death’s dateless night,
And weep afresh love’s long-since-cancelled woe,
And moan th’ expense of many a vanished sight;
Then can I grieve at grievances foregone,
And heavily from woe to woe tell o’er
The sad account of fore-bemoanèd moan,
Which I new pay as if not paid before.

But if the while I think on thee, dear friend,
All losses are restored and sorrows end.

Ah, I am getting sentimental again. Everytime I begin to look back to the past, this sonnet will pop up in my mind. It has been coming to 2 months now that I have decided to leave my current company and there is only one more week left before I sign in the attendance book for the last time. When I first handed in my resignation letter, I didn’t feel a pinch but now that the day is getting nearer and after some farewell sessions, I begin to look back at the past 6 years that I have been with this company, the people, the things that we have done, the movies that we have made, the suspense of an opening weekend, the joy of our movies making it big at the box office, the faces, the fights, etc. A full 6 years of fulfilling movie experience. Indeed it is like in the movies, so surreal and sometimes bombastic. Not to mention also getting to know some really great people who has added so much to my life, enriching it beyond anything that I can reasonably expect. No business compares to the film business. This is probably why the film industry still exist despite losing so much money every year. It is simply extraordinary.

Before I leave for Hyderabad, I shall go on a short trip to London and Paris. This will happen towards the end of April and we are looking forward to it very much, especially to “Les Miserables”. We have wanted to go there for the longest time but each time, something will come up and we had to postpone it. It also dawned on me that it is the tulip season at the Keukenhof but we are unsure if there is enough time for a trip there. We sure look forward to this trip.

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts & Commentaries

Leave a comment