Busted the Go Player

Bao Yun decided to stay over the weekend so that he can watch the football Asian Cup. He likes games and football is one of them. He is here to cheer for China and when China beat Malaysia 5-1, he said he wanted to shout of joy but was very afraid as he was surrounded by Malaysians. So he decided to stay for the Sunday match China vs Iran.

On Saturday, of course, he was at the Japan Club for our regular Weiqi meet-up and he played two sessions of simultaneous games, against 10 players of various strengths per session. He won most of the games, of course. I got busted by him in a 6 handicap game as I lost two corner fights.

However, it seems like he is also very much into Texas Hold’em and what a heaven given opportunity to bust him back!!! :-) After dinner, we went over to our friend’s house where Bao Yun stayed and I didn’t lose the opportunity to show off my set of 500pc Pro Clay poker chips and a set of the super cool Kem bridge sized cards :) What more, I also showed off the chip shuffle that I have been practicing. With these and my fingers crossed, I was looking for a chance to bust Bao Yun’s chips at least once.

And I did. This was how the hand went as far as I can remember.

7 players with the blinds at 1 and 2. Buy-in was 100 chips with unlimited re-buys. The players’ chip stacks do not vary much, maybe around the region of 30-40 chips from each other. Both Bao Yun and myself have roughly the same number of chips, plus minus maybe 10-20 chips.

I was dealt pocket 7 and a player limped in. I limped in too as pocket 7 is not a particularly strong hand with two very loose players at the table. The others called to Bao Yun who raised it to 8 chips, 4 times the big blind. Everyone folded except me who called.

The flop was great for me, a 7 a 6 and a small card. I made my trips and a wonderful opportunity to bust Bao Yun who raised pre-flop. Chances are that this flop missed his hand. Pretending weakness, I slowplayed the hand by checking, hoping that he will bet and I will check-raise to take the pot down there and then. He bet 25 (five red chips) and I raised another 25, making the pot now standing at 94 chips. Maybe he sensed that I was trying to steal the pot (which is unlikely since my raise was just less than half the pot and my this small bet would usually send the poker pros all the signals to fold their hand unless he figured I may be trying to execute a post oak bluff), he made the move and pushed all his chips in. I called instantly.

He muttered something as he saw my trips 7 and he turned over a K and a 6, suited. There were two other cards that is of the same suit on the flop, so with a pair 6, a high kicker and a flush draw, he figured he had the chances. Then, a 6 appeared on the turn and he made his trip 6s but I made my full house. Unless another 6 comes out on the river, he would have lost all his chips. The 6 didn’t appear and I busted all his chips. Woo hoo!!!

Of course he made a re-buy and played some very excellent hands very aggressively and recovered somewhat :)

What a great way to spend a Saturday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poker, Weiqi/Go/Baduk

Leave a Reply

